Do you have eyes but fail to see and ears but fail to hear? And don’t you remember? Mark 8:18

It’s the inner quality of life that matters most. Too often we become discouraged and distracted by the external circumstances of life and forget the important things. One day when Jesus and the disciples were on a journey it was discovered that they’d failed to bring enough bread for the trip. This shouldn’t have mattered to the disciples. In the past couple weeks they’d seen Jesus miraculously multiply bread and fish to feed 4,000 and 5,000 people respectfully.

Jesus tried to use this opportunity to remind the disciples of the danger of yeast in their lives. In the Bible yeast is used as a symbol of sin. Yeast isn’t seen but it takes very little to change the entire loaf of bread. It wasn’t the lack of bread Jesus was concerned about. It was the hidden doubts and worries that had overtaken the disciples that day. Doubt and worry keeps us from being all God intends for us to be.

I imagine it was with some amazement that Jesus asks the disciples. Don’t you remember what I’ve done in the past? Why are you focusing on issues I can take care of? Guard yourselves from the little things in life that can pull you away from me. Look back at what I’ve done for you. Haven’t I provided more than what you’ve needed in the past? It isn’t the things that you see that will cause you to stumble. It’s those little things, the hidden things in life that can sneak in and steal away your joy, your victory, your success.

Keep your eyes and heart focused on what you’ve seen Jesus do in the past. If He did that for you then, imagine the great things He has in store for your future! Measure tomorrow’s problems by the measuring stick of God’s provision in the past. He has never failed to fulfill his promises. Throughout history he has done just what he said he would do. God has promised us, as His children, that he will never leave you and never forsake you. He will always provide just what you need.

Prayer: Heavenly Father. Thank you that you have given me permission to call you Daddy. Thank you for the promises that you have given to me in the past. As I face the challenges before me help me to remember that you have given me everything I need to succeed in living for you. Help me to set aside my own strength so that I can rely on yours and trust your provision. Amen

