“The eye is the lamp of the body.  If your eyes are good, your whole body will be full of light. But if your eyes are bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light within you is darkness, how great is that darkness!”  Matthew 6:22-23

When you get up in the morning and look in the mirror who do you see? The answer to that question will likely determine how the rest of your day goes. If you see a loser in the mirror you will likely treat others in an unloving manner. If you see a lonely person you will likely feel shunned and avoided in all your relationships and contacts with people throughout the day. The person you see in the mirror is likely the person you will become if you let it happen.

Jesus said our eyes are like a lamp. They illuminate our entire being. Who I am is not based on what I do or my circumstances or my past. As a Christ-follower, who I am depends entirely on who Jesus is and what He has done for me. The Bible tells us over and over again that we are God’s children and that he has given each of us gifts to accomplish everything the Father intends for us to accomplish.

The Bible is full of stories of people that had skeletons in their closets, endured tragedy or suffered failure. But God used them in mighty ways. We, as His church, have all been given many gifts. Some gifts are visible and receive lots of attention. Some gifts are done in the background and gain little recognition. But ALL parts of the body are important in order to be healthy.

Jesus says we are the light of the world. Light brings warmth, guidance, and security (among other things) to everything it touches. But sometimes we get drug down by poor choices, broken relationships and a variety of other things in life. We get attacked by circumstances.

Don’t let life circumstances keep you from being all God wants you to be. Charles Swindoll says: The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude… I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it. And so it is with you… we are in charge of our attitudes.  

PRAYER: Dear Jesus. Thank you that you have given me everything I need to accomplish the great things you have for me. Forgive me for letting the circumstances of my life keep me from being all you want me to be. Help me to be content with the gifts you’ve given me and to use them to shed your light on those around me and when I look in the mirror help me see me as you do. Amen

