Listen to me, you who pursue righteousness and who seek the Lord: Look to the rock from which you were cut and to the quarry from which you were hewn.  Isaiah 51:1

Stonehenge is a mysterious collection of rocks in England. For years the question of who built it, when they built it and how they built it has mystified scholars. It has stood for thousands of years as a monument to human achievement and creativity. It has weathered world wars, famines, disease and the ravages of time itself.

The prophet Isaiah speaks of the righteous as being those that God has ‘cut from a rock’ and ‘hewn from a quarry’. He’s referring to those who would one day receive the promise of the Messiah, Jesus Christ. In Isaiah’s day people looked forward to that rock. Today we look back. But the rock is the same, the promise is intact.

Isaiah says we are cut from a rock, not a bunch of rocks, not a series of quarries. Jehovah God fashioned us just as he wanted so that we would endure the tests of time. Life gets us down from time to time. We can lose site of the rock, lose our energy to go on. But Isaiah reminds us that we are all cut from the same stone; the stone that Adam, David, Ruth, Solomon, Paul, Peter and all the other great men and women of faith were cut from.

It’s not about how much money you make. It’s not about the job you have, the house you live in, or your grade point average, or any other number of things people tend to judge us by. It’s not about the music you like or the church you attend. It’s about realizing that YOU were made by the Creator God for a special purpose. He cut you from rock so that you will endure everything life can through at you. Then he gave you forgiveness through His Son Jesus and power to life through His Holy Spirit.

The next time the enemy attacks, remember who made you and what you are made of!

PRAYER: Creator God, I thank you today that you crafted me from rock that I can withstand all the elements and attacks of the world around me. I humbly accept your forgiveness for the many times I’ve failed to do the things I know I should do. Please help me to allow the Holy Spirit to direct my every thought. Keep me focused on who I am in you. Amen.

