Then He touched their eyes and said, “According to your faith will it be done to you.” Matthew 9:29

“But I just don’t have the faith for that to happen.” Ever hear someone say that, or something similar? You hear stories about how God is working in the lives of other people and wonder why it doesn’t happen to you? Miraculous healings. Relational turn-arounds. Anonymous checks showing up in the mail just in time to save your house, your business or your marriage?

Faith isn’t really faith until it’s proven. To say I believe God will do something great in my life means nothing unless I open myself up to Him and allow Him to have complete control of my attitude and actions. Faith grows as it is tested. Strong faith doesn’t come without strong adversity. It is our reaction to life that grows our faith.

One day Jesus was walking along the road. As he nears the house where he was to stay for the night two blind men sitting along the road asked him to have mercy on them. It appears that Jesus walked right by these two men and went into the house. For many that would have been the end of the story. The men would have continued to beg and remained unhealed. But these two men got up and followed Jesus. They followed Him right into the house and asked again for mercy.

This time Jesus touched their eyes and said that they would be healed according to the amount of faith they had. How much faith did they have? They had enough faith to get up from the ground and follow the one hope they had for vision. They didn’t let their handicap keep them back. They didn’t shrug their shoulders and say “I guess we don’t have enough faith”. Instead they took action. They took a risk. Because of that their faith was proven to be strong and they received their sight.

Getting ‘Faith’ means you make a decision at some point in your life that things are going to be different. From that point on you are going to live with the belief that God can change you and use you for good. It means that you realize that while you must take the first step towards faith, it is God’s power working in you that will help you endure. Growing in faith doesn’t come without risk and without pain of some sort.

PRAYER: Dear Jesus. So many times I have missed out on great things because I’m afraid to take the risk and move out in faith. I ask that you give me courage to move out and that you empower me with your Spirit to make a difference in my corner of the world. I realize that I cannot do this in my power. Amen.

