Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever. Psalm 23:6 (NLT)

 The 23 Psalm is commonly read at funerals as words of comfort for those of us left behind and while the words are certainly comforting during those times it’s unfortunate that for many the Psalm is meant for the dead and/or mourning. Nothing is further than the truth. The 23rd Psalm is a song of rejoicing for the living!

The Psalmist, David, begins with a simple statement that is loaded with truth for those of us that follow Christ. “The Lord is My Shepherd…” Dwell for a few minutes on those words alone.

  • The LORD is my shepherd-King of Kings, creator God, ruler of the Universe, All-powerful, Almighty, All-knowing. The same Yesterday, Today and Forever!
  • The Lord is MY shepherd-He is personally interested in me. I am His number one. He knew me in my mother’s womb. I am not a number, I am His special creation!
  • The Lord is my SHEPHERD-As All-knowing, all-powerful Creator God, who is personally interested in me and loves me personally, He chooses to guide and protect me and supply my every need. He knows my enemies, knows my needs, and is willing and able to protect me in every circumstance!

David begins this psalm with an overall statement of the God who loves us personally. He ends with a summary statement of what that means for me in the daily battles that I will encounter. ‘Surely’ is a word that implies finality and authority. There is no doubt. The statement that follows is as true as His word itself. This is something you can take to the bank.

‘His goodness and unfailing love’ tells of God’s character. If Creator God is who we say He is then his very nature is goodness. Goodness means moral excellence, feeling kindly towards someone. Our Heavenly Father’s love is a love of excellence. A quality of love that meets our every need knows our inner most being and knows exactly what our physical, spiritual and emotional needs are at any given moment and during anything life can throw at us. The words imply that this excellence in goodness and love is given in spite of the fact that the receiver of this love is undeserved. There is nothing we can do to earn the goodness and unfailing love of our Father.

Our all-powerful, all-loving Heavenly Father pursues us, earnestly seeking to show us His excellent love. As we go through the valleys of life, He is there. As we suffer the consequences of our own poor choices, He is there. As we suffer at the hands of others, He is there. He is not silent. He is not apathetic. He is a loving, kind and gentle shepherd who wants to lead us from danger to the fresh and fertile fields where we can enjoy the safety of His presence.

Don’t allow negative thoughts about yourself keep you from experiencing all that God has for you to experience in life.

PRAYER: Heavenly Father, thank you for desiring to be my guide even though I’m so unworthy of your goodness and love. Thank you that you made me as I am but are not willing to leave me this way. Help me to grow stronger in my faith and trust in You and in myself. AMEN.

