I would have despaired unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. Wait for the LORD; Be strong and let your heart take courage; Yes, wait for the LORD. Psalm 27:13-14 (NASB)

 What is it that keeps the Olympic athletes training day in and day out for months and years? What power drives the author to spend hours a day writing on that novel? What driving force pushes the cancer patient to live through the pain or the accident victim to beat all the odds in order to walk again? What motivates the fire fighter to enter a burning building to rescue a little girl’s kitten, risking his own life in the process?

Every day we hear stories about heroes performing extraordinary feats to win honors, save lives or keep their own. One factor in all of these stories is the vision these people have that says “life is worth it!” They are able to look through the gloom and doom, evaluate the possibilities and reach down inside themselves and conjure up a plan that enables them to reach their goal.

Not everyone wins the dream of course. Many gallant men and women lose athletic contests, never get that book published or lose the battle to illness or tragedy. Even so, they believed in themselves enough to try and that in and of itself are worth merit.

As Christ followers we can know what that inner drive is. It’s spelled J-E-S-U-S! It is because of Him we have our essence. It’s believing that scripture says about who we are in Him and realizing in a practical, experiential way that God loves us and that we are His own very special creation. He has given us the gifts, the power and the wisdom to accomplish all that He has in store for us.

In Psalm 27, David writes about the utter despair that he would have had if it weren’t for his faith in almighty God. It was David’s focus on the finish line that kept him sane in the dark mountain fields at night. It was his focus on what God could do that enabled him to pick up those five stones, patiently wait for the throne, and defeat all of Israel’s enemies. It was his belief in the promise of the Messiah that allowed him to be at peace with himself even after he sinned greatly against God, his family and his nation.

Each of us can do exactly as David did. We focus on that God can do through us, as His special creations. We can trust Him to deliver us and empower us to work through the pain and frustrations of live. We can look back at what God provided us through Jesus (forgiveness and His Holy Spirit to guide and motivate) and forward to real life with Him now and forevermore.

Never give up on God. Never give up on yourself. He can work in your life to help you change your world!

PRAYER: Father God, as I think of the many ways people have beat the odds and accomplished great things I’m in awe of your power. I confess to you that sometimes I really don’t believe you have great things in store for me. I get so encumbered with my present and my past that I forget to see your future. Help me to use the power you’ve given me through your Holy Spirit to be the person you want me to be and to change my world for you. Amen

