Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place. Ephesians 6:14

The Roman soldiers were in constant danger and the threat of attack. This was especially so in Israel since the Jews hated the Roman occupation. The Roman soldier wore a girdle, breast-plate, shoes with iron nails, a helmet to protect his head, and carried a great shield on his left arm which was thrown in front of his body. His weapon was the sword. It was with the sword, not the spear as other nations, that the Romans conquered the world.

But holding it all together was the girdle, or belt. Without the belt, the soldier’s armor was dangerously flawed at best and completely useless at the worst.

As Christ followers we are given a belt as well. It is the belt of Truth and its purpose is to be the basis for all we do and all we are. It is Truth that guides our actions, filters our thoughts and attitudes and inspires us to press on. The Truth we function on is absolute Truth, Truth with a capital T. Truth that cannot be changed, altered or destroyed.

Here are some of the components of the Truth we as Christ-followers stand on:

  • There is one God who is creator and sustainer of the Universe and who by His own design has made man and woman so that He can be in a perfect, eternal relationship with us.
  • Jesus Christ is the only way to find God. He is the Way, the Truth and the Life. He died as an innocent man for those of us who could never hope to be innocent and rose from the dead so that we could have life eternal.
  • Because I have asked forgiveness of my sins and have asked Jesus to take permanent residence in my life I can approach the very throne of God and address Him as my daddy.
  • I know that I am a child of the living God, with special talents and abilities and personality traits that are special to me and make me His unique creation. I am His masterpiece, His Plan A, His most cherished of all possessions.
  • I am forgiven, not perfect. My daddy has never expected me to be perfect. He is not surprised by my failures and rejoices in my victories. He’s been at every ball game I’ve played in, every performance I’ve been a part of and every test I’ve taken.
  • He is the first one to rise and applaud for me. Whenever He sees me He gives me a standing ovation. He loves me.
  • He is my constant source of support, encouragement, protection and understanding.
  • Some day whether at death or at His promised return He will greet me face to face with open arms and welcome me home as a long, lost son and say “Nice Job! You were everything I hoped you would be.” Those words will not be due to my performance and ability to ‘live right’ but because of my reliance on Him.

It is on these truths that I stand. I am not perfect. I am weak and stubborn and selfish and sometimes just plain ornery. He knows that and loves me anyway. And THAT is why I love Jesus.

PRAYER: Daddy. I love you. Thank you for always being there for me. Thanks for hanging my picture on your refrigerator and keeping all those silly trophies I worked so hard to win. I know realize that the real trophy in my life is and always will be you. Forgive me for being distracted and rebellious. Help me to follow your Truth and not the fickle truth of the world. In the name of your Son Jesus I pray. Amen.

