And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19

The Bible tells us in many different places that if we come to God with our requests that He will hear us and answer our prayers. Jesus says that ‘if you have the faith of a mustard seed you can move mountains.’ We are taught that prayer is the most effective weapon we have in combating the issues of life that surround us.

The reality is that even for those of us that believe in Jesus Christ and strive to follow him throughout our entire lives, sometimes it seems like our prayers go unanswered. We pray for health issues and people die. We pray for safety and injuries happen. We pray for financial success and debt results.

Sometimes God withholds what we think we need because He has something better in store for us. We ask for things, even good things but don’t know the future. Our Heavenly Father loves us dearly and wants only the best for us. But He knows better than any father what is best for us. When we look back on our past we’ll be able to see that His way is truly best.

We may ask for physical things. Good things that will help us be comfortable and healthy; things that will help others or even bring others to Christ. But those things may keep us from relying on God for His provision.

God knows what things will make us stronger and wiser. He knows what lays ahead of us tomorrow. He has promised never ever to leave us. It’s a matter of faith. If God is who we say He is then we need to learn to rely on Him with the same faith and confidence whether the answer is yes or no to our prayers.

We are also promised that we will receive our needs dependent on His strength and His riches. Not on our own ability to provide. It’s easy when we are in distressing situations to think that our deliverance will somehow depend on our own strength or our own worthiness. But God’s word tells us that His promises to meet our needs are based on Jesus, not us.

As we grow closer to Him through reading the Bible and daily prayer He will meet our every need physically, spiritually and emotionally. We serve a God of grace, not one of vengeance and hate.

PRAYER; Father God, I confess to you that I am sometimes filled with doubt when I pray. I pray expecting that the answer will be ‘no’ or that you won’t answer at all. I get discouraged and start to doubt you when things I ask for don’t happen. Please forgive me for my lack of faith. Help me to grow closer to you each day and to believe will all my heart that you will meet my needs, not always my wants, because of who Jesus is. Thank you for your promise to help me through the most difficult times of life.  Amen

