One day David asked, “Is anyone in Saul’s family still alive—anyone to whom I can show kindness for Jonathan’s sake?” 2 Samuel 9:1 (NLT)

The story of David and Mephibosheth is a beautiful picture of God’s grace to us. There was nothing the Mephibosheth did to draw David to himself. David probably didn’t even know Jonathan had a son, which is why he asked if anyone from Saul’s household was still alive. Had he known Jonathan had children he would have asked about Jonathan’s family.

There was nothing noble about his gesture to a ‘cripple’ either. Today we applaud people who reach out to those who are handicapped but in David’s day those people were often ignored completely or left to beg on the side of the road. David reached out to a helpless person just as God in His grace has reached out to us.

David’s action was based on a covenant he made with Jonathan. Mephibosheth had nothing to do with the transaction. In the same way, our relationship with God is based solely on what Jesus did on the cross. We are weak, helpless, stubborn people who live in sin. Yet Jesus reached out to us on the cross based on the covenant God made with Abraham and we can approach God because of Jesus. We did nothing to deserve a relationship with God and we can do nothing to maintain it.

It was by grace that Mephibosheth was given the highest place in David’s kingdom. In the same way, those of us who are Christ-followers are given the highest place of honor in God’s kingdom. We don’t deserve the many blessings we receive from Him. Yet, in spite of our unworthiness, He has elevated us to the position of sonship.

Mephibosheth saw himself as nothing more than a cripple, a dead dog, even though he was a member of royalty. His self-image kept him in a mindset of worthlessness even though he continued to live in comfort. Even though he had given up on life, God reached out to him by sending David to him and bless him far beyond what he could have imagined.

God wants to do the same for you. Even though you may have made many poor decisions or ignored God all together He seeks you to have a meaningful relationship with you. Don’t allow your weaknesses to keep you from living a life of power and love. Never give up. Mephibosheth lived for years thinking that what he had was the best that could be. God showed him differently and he ended up living in a palace and treated like a king.

PRAYER: Father God, I thank you for the grace you have given to me. Grace I don’t deserve. Grace I didn’t seek out. I acknowledge to you that the blessings I have received have nothing to do with who I am or what I have done. Everything I am; everything I have is a result of your grace. Help me to leave the negative thoughts of who I am behind. Empower me to see me as you see me, a son/daughter worthy of all your riches. In Jesus name, Amen.

