There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy place where the Most High dwells. Psalm 46:4

It’s only three feet deep and about 20 feet across, yet 2,348 miles later the mighty Mississippi River enters the gulf of Mexico. Along its way hundreds of streams and rivers join the Mississippi, making it one of the largest rivers in the world.

The Psalmist talks about a river that makes the city of God glad. The city of God is a symbolic term for the Church, the body of Christ, those who have chosen to be Christ-followers. The river reminds us of the many blessings that God has bestowed on His people.

Rivers have always been as source of prosperity and security to people. Even in the driest of times rivers provide water, food and protection. When the psalmist wrote this verse he could very well have been thinking about how important rivers were to the safety of a city. Many were built along or on either side of a river. Walls surrounded the city for protection. Many a city fell when invading armies would stop the flow of water to the city, thus eventually rendering it defenseless.

God’s blessings to His church never run dry. No enemy can divert the flow of His grace to His people. His blessings aren’t like the Mississippi at its beginning, small and insignificant. His blessings to us are endless because of His great love for us.

As followers of Jesus we have the promise of forgiveness even when we sin time and again. We are always forgiven. We have the promise of the Holy Spirit of God living within us to guide us, and give us wisdom. We have the Word of God, the Holy Bible to teach us about God and to show us how to live for Him.

Because of these blessings and many more we, as Christ-followers must use the blessings we’ve received to bless those around us.

PRAYER: Father, as I think of all the blessings you have given me, I am in awe that you even consider me. I’m stubborn, selfish and easily prone to sin and worry. Yet your blessings keep coming! You protect me and provide for me physically and spiritually if I will follow you. I praise you today that nothing can keep me from experiencing your blessing. I ask that you would empower me to bless others as I have been blessed by you. Amen.

