So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

When we are infants we are totally dependent on our parents for everything from moving from one point to another, food and drink, entertainment, clothing and safety and protection. As we grew older we began to learn new things. The world became alive with new experiences, things to explore, activities to try. We begin to think that the world is a playground and that we are at the center of it. We are invincible!

But something happens along the way. We fall. We stumble. We get burned. We fail. In the midst of that learning something else happens. We begin to doubt. It could be because of critical parenting. It could be because we’ve begun to see ourselves as failures. It could be due to emotional or physical abuse. Gradually, without our knowledge or realization we begin to realize we aren’t invincible. We are not the center of the universe. Where we once thought anything was possible, life teaches us the cruel lesson that perhaps nothing we desire is possible. We lose our dreams, our focus, and our ability to see ourselves as successes.

During those times of self-defeat God says. STOP! I am with you. I, the creator God of the universe. The One that holds the stars in my hand and dictates where the clouds go and the rain falls. The one that sees every bird that falls from the sky and every fish in the sea. I am with you. I am not near you. I’m not within calling range. I’m not merely available. I AM WITH YOU.

Because I am with you I will help you. I will walk by your side to see that you prosper. I will walk by your side during the dangerous, scary, disappointing, frustrating times of life. I’ll help you when you fall. I’ll applaud your successes.

It’s not about you anymore. It never really was. It’s about me. It’s about the fact that you can’t (never really could) do it on your own. It is by my strength that we will walk life’s journey together. Don’t be afraid. I’m here.

Live life today with the realization that you never ever walk alone. Your heavenly Father is yearning to uphold you in anything you do. During your successes and failures. During your rebellion and your times of need. He is there.

PRAYER: Heavenly Father. When I think of all you have done for me. When I realize that you have walked with me, by my side through everything. I am in awe. I don’t understand why you have allowed some things in my life. I’m thankful for other things. I ask that in everything I will sense your presence and love today. You are truly an awesome God. Amen.

