The LORD is my light and my salvation— whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life—     of whom shall I be afraid? Psalm 27:1

During a particularly stressful time in my life I learned to hate darkness. Everything I had counted on in life was gone. I faced a bleak future. My thoughts were riddled by guilt, shame, embarrassment and fear. I hated closing my eyes and would stay up into the wee hours of the morning afraid to sleep, and more fearful of what morning might bring.

In the morning, nothing had changed. The fear of the future and guilt from my past was still there. Huge gaping wounds slashed across my emotions. But the fear seemed abated because there was light. I could see what was around me.

In the Bible light is a common figure for comfort. Light brings us strength when we can’t go on. Light is a stronghold, giving us a sense of security. Light warms more than the soil and the air around us. Light warms our very soul.

Jesus Christ is referred to as the light of the world. When we follow Him and grow in a relationship with Him, His love and forgiveness dispels the shadows and warms the coldness of our hearts. The painful ordeals life can bring us will still be there. We’ll still fail. We’ll still feel some of the pain as the wounds heal and the scars slowly disappear. But in the midst of our pain we see hope.

Light also shows us where the dirt is. As we earnestly seek a closer walk with Jesus, His light finds those dark corners of our lives where we’ve forgotten about areas that need to be cleaned up. But He doesn’t just leave us there to clean up the mess! Through His Holy Spirit He gives us the power to cut through the dirt of our lives so we can better reflect His light in us to those around us.

Jesus. The light of my world. The source of comfort. The foundation of my security. The only One who can supply my every need emotionally, spiritually and physically. Without Him I never would have seen my way through the darkness. Friends fail. Family fails. Relationships fail. Jesus NEVER fails.

PRAYER: Dear Jesus. I thank you that you are the light of the world. Please be the light of my world. You alone know the pain I am feeling. You alone know the emptiness of my soul, the shame of poor decisions and the struggle I have to survive. I ask that you empower me by your Holy Spirit to feel the warmth of your sunshine on my face so that I can see my world in a whole new, exciting way. Amen.

