So we can say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper, so I will have no fear. What can mere people do to me?” Hebrews 13:6 (NLT)

Fear has the power to cripple us in ways that are almost impossible to overcome. We can be crippled with fear when because of natural disaster, relational issues, physical or emotional abuse, false accusations and the personal bias of others, to mention just a few.

One of the reasons fear is so effective in rendering us powerless is that we see no way to change the outcome of the situation. To compensate we may make accusations, get angry, withdraw or find something else we can control so that we feel powerful in at least one area of our lives.

The writer to the Hebrews gives us another idea. When we enter into any situation in which we feel helpless he challenges us to conquer our fear by claiming the power we have in partnership with God. When a fear-filled situation attacks us we can call on God to help. It’s as though that situation you are facing with fear is a bully and God is the big brother. While you stand up to the bully, God is standing behind you. The bully doesn’t see you. He sees God! While he knows he can beat you, he also knows he’s no match for the guy standing behind you. He turns and runs in fear!

There is no one and nothing on this earth that we need fear when we are in relationship with God through Jesus Christ. As mere mortals, we have nothing to fight with against the weapons of our enemy. But because of Jesus we can claim the victory!

What is the absolute worst thing that can happen to a human being? Ask that question of people and they may say financial devastation, natural disaster or cancer. In essence what they are saying is that the worst thing that can happen to us is death. But death has no power over us as followers of Jesus Christ. Death is not the end of our lives but the beginning of eternal life with him.

What can man do to us to destroy us? The answer, if we are Christ-followers is: NOTHING! With the Almighty, All-powerful, All-knowing God on our side we have nothing to fear!

PRAYER: Most Holy God. I come to you today to thank you Jesus and for the partnership I can have with You through Him. You know that today I am fearful of many things. I worry. I’m afraid for my finances, my health and my children. I praise you for the fact that no one can do anything to harm me when you are with me. Help me this day to remember, when worry attacks, that you are my constant helper and friend. Amen.

