And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to death— even death on a cross! Philippians 2:8

Jesus tells a story about a merchant who, in his travels, found something of such value that he returned home and sold everything he had so he could have this one, prized possession. Nothing else mattered in life once he acquired it. Whatever the object was, it didn’t do anything to attract the man’s attention. Even so, it was precious enough to pursue.

What could be so valuable that you’d give everything to own it? What could be so important that you would risk everything you had to keep this in your possession? What could one feel so passionate about that they would pursue it with such tenacity? The answer, quite frankly is you.

You see, when the Roman soldiers walked with Jesus to the hill of Calvary it wasn’t their swords that prodded Jesus along the way. It was God. It wasn’t the hands of the executioner that held Jesus’ hands in preparation for the blow of the hammer on the nail. It was Jesus’ Father. It wasn’t the jeers and verbal harassment that caused him to feel so alone as he hung there dying. It was the fact that his Heavenly Father turned his back on him that cause the most pain. The nails and sword didn’t hold him to the, love did. It was an extreme, intense, passionate love for you that kept him on the cross.

The next time you question if you are loved, remember the cross. The next time you feel you are of no value, remember what was price was paid to purchase you. The next time you think you’ve gone to far, made too many mistakes, rebelled one too many times, remember what held Jesus to the cross. His Father, your Heavenly Father, the creator sustainer of the universe put him there so he  could enjoy you for eternity.

Could God have rescued his son from the tree that day on Calvary? You bet he could, but then He’d never have been able to call you his own. God loves you passionately and Jesus death on the cross is an eternal reminder of his love and forgiveness. Live today as the cherished possession you are.

PRAYER: Father God, thank you for loving me so much that you gave all you had to  make me your own. I’m so unworthy of the grace and forgiveness you have given me. As I go throughout my day help me to remember the price you paid. Remind me of my value in your eyes. Empower me to live for you in light of your great eternal love for me. In the name of Jesus my Lord I pray, Amen.

