Early on Sunday morning, as the new day was dawning, Mary Magdalene and the other Mary went out to visit the tomb. Matthew 28:1 (NLT)

There was no reason to go there. It was early in the morning, long before most people were up. They’d no doubt spent a sleepless night. Sabbath must have been unbearable. Did the two Mary’s go to the synagogue that day? Were they reminded constantly of Jesus throughout the service? After all, it was just a week ago they’d sat with him. Just over a week ago that the crowds had given him a parade any championship team would have envied.

But now he was gone. They’d stood at a distance and watched him die on the cross. His final words still ringing in their ears. It was early Sunday morning as they made their way down the quiet streets and through the garden to the tomb. What could they possibly expect to see? A huge stone covered the entrance to the tomb. They’d heard that a whole company of Roman soldiers were standing guard. There was certainly no hope of seeing Jesus and a good chance they wouldn’t even be able to get close to the tomb. So what sent them there?

Duty driven by love.

They didn’t go because they had to go. They didn’t go because there as any chance of them gaining something from the visit. They went because they loved Jesus and wanted to be near him one more time. They weren’t going with the expectation of recieving anything. They were going to give.

That’s true discipleship. That’s what it means to follow Christ. We do what we do for Jesus because he’s already given us everything he can give. All we have to give in return is our love and allegiance. He doesn’t demand anything from us. He knows we could never repay him for what he has done for us.

So we climb the mountains of our journey. We trudge through the valleys of our existence. We don’t know what lies ahead. We only know that someday, somehow we want to get closer to Jesus.

PRAYER: My dear Jesus. There are so many times I catch myself doing things to win your approval. So many times I measure my spirituality by the things I do rather than what you have done for me. Thank you for loving me even though I fail you. Help me to love you and others the way you have shown us love. Empower me with your Spirit to walk with you in love driven duty. In your name I pray, Amen.

 

