For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. Psalm 139:13

Have you ever had some feeling deep down inside yourself that you couldn’t describe, not even to yourself? Some deep seeded feeling that you didn’t understand or even agree with? You didn’t want, or couldn’t share it with anyone because no one would understand you and you feared being misunderstood.

If you’ve ever felt this way then you will appreciate what the Psalmist has to say about your deepest, most secret emotions. No one on earth can truly understand how you feel. They may empathize or sympathize. They may have been through similar circumstances. But if anyone says “I know exactly how you feel”, feel free to gently inform them that they can’t possibly know EXACTLY how you feel!

There is one person, however, that does know exactly how you feel. He knows your deepest darkest secrets. You know, those things you don’t even talk with yourself about. The hidden desires. The questions you don’t dare ask. The dreams you never got a chance to pursue. It’s all there. Deep down inside and no one but you knows the whole truth…no one that is except God.

Genesis tells us we’re created in God’s image. The Psalmist gives us more insight. We aren’t mass produced. We’re knitted. Now, I don’t have the slightest idea how to knit, but I’ve watched those who do.

From my observations, knitting is a very personal thing. You can have a group of people sitting together knitting, but each person is producing a unique creation. It doesn’t matter if everyone is attempting to make the same hat, scarf or whatever; no two of them will be exactly the same. The artist creating the object is personally involved with every aspect of the project. Every creation is a masterpiece.

So it is with us. God was intimately involved in every aspect of your development while you were in your mother’s womb. Your weren’t just some mass of matter. You weren’t just a fetus in the process of development. You were a special creation. A masterpiece of Gods workmanship.  Nothing left to chance. No flaws. No mistakes. God in all his wisdom made you just as planned. We judge by outward appearance, but the true self is the inner quality God intended us to have.

The next time you feel worthless; remember the one who planned you intimately and passionately. You are so much more than a developed fetus or mass of cells formed haphazardly. You are the personal masterpiece of the living God!

PRAYER: Father God. I’ve spent my whole life trying to be accepted by others. I’ve struggled to be something I’m not and bear the scars of broken dreams and poor choices. In spite of all the scar tissue my physical body bears, I am your masterpiece, created for you and redeemed by your son. I worship you because as your masterpiece I am, as the Psalmist says, wonderfully made. Empower me to live as your special creation. In Jesus name, Amen.

