You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world. 1 John 4:4

It was the stuff TV dramas are made of except it was happening to me! I couldn’t believe my ears when I heard that my life was being threatened. My emotions when from shock mixed with humor to fear. What if he made good on his threat?

The more I thought about it, the less I was afraid. Sound odd? Perhaps. But my contentment came from the realization that death for me isn’t defeat. It’s victory. My assailant would still be here to suffer the consequences of his crime. In the meantime I’d be resting comfortably in the arms of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

The same scenario plays itself out in Satan’s life. Our attitude towards Satan is one of extremes. In some ways we don’t take the idea of ‘Satan’ seriously enough. He’s real. He’s very powerful. He has a very large army of demons who have but one plan…to destroy you. He’s also very cunning and deceptive. He won’t attack you in the areas of your strength. He’ll always attack in your weak spot.

On the other hand, in some ways we take Satan far too seriously. Sound like I’m writing in circles? Consider this. Satan is very strong. He wants to destroy you. He knows his time is short. But there’s something else you need to realize about Satan. You scare the hell out of Satan, or should I say you scare the hell INTO him?

From the beginning Satan has tried to defeat God’s plan for relationship with you. He wants to be number one and you are standing in his way. If he can keep you defeated; if he can keep you wallowing in a pool of self-pity, guilt and fear he knows he can win.

But if you decide to stand up to him. If you act on the power you have through Jesus Christ the Bible says he will ‘flee from you!’ Not stand and fight. Not beg for mercy. RUN! Satan is terrified of Christ-followers who live in the power of the Spirit and act like they are God’s children.

Don’t let Satan defeat you. He’s a loser. He knows it, but he doesn’t want you to live out the power you have in Jesus. Live in the promises of grace, forgiveness and mercy. Even if you lose your life you win.

PRAYER: Father God, from this day forward I’m not letting Satan control how I feel about me. He’s kept me in prison for far too long. By the power I have through Jesus’ forgiveness I demand he leave me alone. I rest in the freedom I have in you. By the name and blood of Jesus I pray, Amen.

