As a young man marries a young woman, so will your Builder marry you; as a bridegroom rejoices over his bride, so will your God rejoice over you. Isaiah 62:5

Have you ever noticed the groom as the bride walks down the aisle? Most people don’t. They all look at the bride. Her walk down the aisle is all about her. She’s the princess. She is the one we all look at in admiration, happiness and maybe even a little jealousy.

But the eyes of the congregation aren’t the only ones fixed on the bride. Someone else has his eyes on her. As she walks down the white path he is mesmerized by her beauty. The crowd seems to disappear. The nervousness of remembering the vows vanishes…for the time being. His full and complete attention is riveted on the beauty of this goddess as she moves towards him.

I wonder if that was on the mind of the song writer as he wrote the words:

My love must be a kind of blind love; I can’t see anyone but you.

Are the stars out tonight? I don’t know if it’s cloudy or bright, I Only Have Eyes For You, Dear.

The moon maybe high but I can’t see a thing in the sky, ‘Cause I Only Have Eyes For You.

I don’t know if we’re in a garden, or on a crowded avenue.

You are here, So am I, Maybe millions of people go by, but they all disappear from view.

And I Only Have Eyes For You.

But let me let you in on a little secret. Few even think about it at the time of the ceremony, but here goes. Are you ready for a shocking revelation? Here it is. The bride isn’t perfect. Yep, that’s right. She’s flawed. Defective. She has moments of anger. She can be downright stubborn and rude at times. She can be demanding and selfish and downright cranky. But few think about that. At least today. Today is the wedding day.

What a wonderful picture of the love our Heavenly Father has for us. Imagine him as the groom. You are the bride. As you walk towards Him, Jesus’ eyes are glued on your beauty, not on your flaws. Do you see the pride in his face? The smile on his lips? The reflection of yourself in his eyes? You should you know. As the Bride of Christ you are loved beyond measure.

Oh, sure, like any bride you have your flaws. Like the tirade your co-workers endured last week and the over-reaction to the dent in the car? Oh, and lets not forget the thoughts that ran through your mind when that cute young thing down the street walked by this morning. Flawed? Yep, you are. Defective? From day one. Loved beyond measure by Jesus? Exactly.

He’ll work on the flaws with you. But for today, He only has eyes for you.

PRAYER: Father, when I contemplate the great love you have for me I’m speechless. You look on me with such pride when I’m so undeserving of your grace and mercy. You see me as a beautiful bride even when I don’t feel very pretty. Thank you for your love that is higher than the mountains and deeper than the sea. I’m blessed and honored to be your bride. In your name, Amen.

