He will take our weak mortal bodies and change them into glorious bodies like his own, using the same power with which he will bring everything under his control. Philippians 3:21(NLT)

When I was in third grade we had a big jar on a table in the corner. Every day when we first came to class we’d all go back to the jar to see if anything had changed. We waited excitedly to see what would happen to the small, grayish looking cocoon hanging from a twig in the jar. I don’t remember how long we watched for a change, but it seemed like a year.

Finally, one of my classmates called across the room for the teacher to come look! We as a class scurried back to the jar as well. The cocoon was breaking! “Official class work” was delayed as we all gathered around the small table. Where once hung a small, rather ugly chrysalis, now hung a beautiful Monarch butterfly. Nothing at all like the small, crawling insect it once was.

In Philippians, the Apostle Paul promises each of us that one day this shell of a body we wear on a daily basis will undergo a wonderful transformation. This weak shell of a body will be changed from the inside out! God’s word doesn’t tell us much about this new body but here are some things we know.

We’ll never grow tired or hungry; we’ll never be sad or disappointed; we’ll never be sick; never hurt; there will be no handicapped parking or hospitals or cancer centers or rehab centers of funeral homes. We catch a slight glimpse of what that will be like with Jesus. Someday our bodies will be like his. He could walk through doors; he could eat; he could move instantly from one place to another and then disappear.

That may sound pretty good for you today. You may be tired. You may be struggling with wounds from abuse, war, relational distress or economic disaster. You may wonder if you can make it through one more day without completely falling apart. Your body hurts, your heart aches and your brain seems to be saturated with things to worry about. You may feel just plain ugly and useless.

Listen to the words of Paul. You are in the process of being transformed. The process takes time. The process often includes pain. The process may seem never ending. But the process isn’t in your control. It’s not determined by religion or politics or the enemy (Satan). The process, every step of the way, is guided by Jesus. He loves you more than life itself. His intention is to someday make you a beautiful butterfly, to change your body from what it is into a glorious, perfect, beautiful being. The Bible says each of us will be completely healed by his wounds so that we will be weak no more!

PRAYER: Dear Jesus, I’m tired. I’m tired of feeling sick. I’m tired of being in physical pain. I’m tired of having my heart hurt so badly. I feel more like a crawling insect than a beautiful butterfly. I realize life will be a struggle until I see you in all your beauty. For now, I ask for strength to get through the day. Thank you that my transformation is powered by your grace and out of my control. I can’t wait to see you and to experience the joy of my spiritual Matamoras’s. Thank you for loving me. Amen.

