In everything we have won more than a victory because of Christ who loves us. Romans 8:37 (CEV)

I’ve learned a lot of important lessons in life. Far too many to put in this short post. But here are some that come to mind.

  1. I learned early in life that there is safety in my father’s arms. Growing up I was afraid of storms. I was afraid of water and, when we took rides in my grandfather’s boat was certain we would die. But when daddy was there, my fear was gone.
  2. I learned to walk, and then run. The freedom of independence was exhilarating to say the least! But in the midst of that freedom, I learned that falling was sometimes inevitable, but that even though the fall hurt a bit, I could get up and try again.
  3. I learned that scary things often aren’t really that scary after all and that if I put my mind to it, I could overcome my fears. I still watch the clouds. I still am cautious around water. But I know that I can handle many things if I just take the time to evaluate the situation.
  4. I learned that I can take care of myself. First it was simple things like pulling up my pants all by myself, then it was learning to tie my shoes, then all too soon I learned I could take care of my family and my kids.
  5.  I learned, the hard way, that things aren’t always as they appear. Friends don’t always keep their promises. God isn’t always easy to understand. Just ‘living on love’ doesn’t really work. Being a superstar is hard work.
  6. I learned that I can be me without your approval. You may not like my taste in clothes. You may not like my taste in music. You may question my actions from time to time. But even though I’ll make mistakes and errors in judgment, your opinion of me doesn’t affect who I am. Frankly, I refuse to let you take the right of ‘me’ away; you won’t spoil my day.
  7. But maybe the most important thing I’ve learned is this: “God works more powerfully through me when I am at my weakest.”

I’ve gone through divorce. I’ve gone through rejection. I’ve made some really stupid mistakes in my life. I found out that I couldn’t live the life I wanted to live in my own power. I have stopped living the lie. It’s not about me after all. It’s all about Jesus.

So now, I believe what Jesus says about me. If he says I’m forgiven, I AM. If he says he’ll be with me through the rough stuff; HE WILL; If he says my needs (not my wants) will be taken care of; THEY WILL. If he says he loves me; HE DOES.

It’s so easy to listen to what others say about you. It’s easy to believe you have to pull yourself up by the bootstraps and make life go by yourself. But those are lies and are simply not true. Jesus says it’s by his strength, not ours, and it is. Going according to his strength is the key to success.

PRAYER: Lord Jesus. I’ve learned many things in my life, but the best thing I’ve learned is that your love and promises are true. Thank you for making me, me! Amen.

