For you have upheld my right and my cause, sitting enthroned as the righteous judge. Psalm 9:4

When you think about it, how much of our time is spend fighting for our rights? It could be something as small as the race for a parking spot or refusing to let the person trying to merge into traffic get the spot in front of you. Then of course there’s ‘shopping cart aisle rage’ resulting from the mad dash to the checkout counter

The fight for rights also had a larger, more dangerous tone as is evident whenever you turn on the news. Special interest groups demand their right ‘to choose’. Political groups demand the right to provide programs or funding for their own special projects. Children negotiate in order to get the toys they feel they have a ‘right to have’.

Not all ‘fights for rights’ are wrong of course. Many a war has been fought to protect the rights of those who are being victimized and brutalized. The question one must ask in the fight for rights, especially our personal rights, is who am I ultimately fighting for?

Society in general would never admit it perhaps, but ultimately their battle for rights revolves around their own personal, humanistic world view. For the believer in Christ, the battle for ‘rights’ must always look back to the cross. We don’t fight for ourselves, if we must fight, we fight for others protection for the glory of God.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m far from a political activist trying to start a new version of the crusades. When his disciples were ready to protect Jesus in the garden (a noble gesture I think) he told them to put the swords away and let God handle it.

Maybe that’s the key to effective warfare for our rights. We need to find the balance between standing for God’s standards as stated in his word, and yet be willing to let him fight his own battles in the street. After all, I don’t know about you, but God is considerably stronger, more experiences and better equipped to defend me and himself than I am!

Letting God fight my battles is full of risk though. First we need the wisdom to know when and how to fight. Secondly we need to patience to let the Lord handle what we can’t in his way and his power. That may mean pain on our part. We may experience times of loneliness, rejection or misunderstanding. The battle may take much longer than we were hoping. But true faith in a sovereign God means we trust him to win the ultimate battle. In spite of the fact that it may not go as we’d like, trusting God WILL bring ultimate victory over our physical and emotional enemies.

PRAYER: Father there are times when I get angry and I want to fight. The tools may be words or judgmental thoughts or even manipulation or force. Give me wisdom to know when and how I should fight, and patience during those times I need to hand it all over to you. Amen.

