Everyone who sees me makes fun and sneers. They shake their heads, and say, “Trust the Lord! If you are his favorite, let him protect you and keep you safe.” Psalm 22:7-8 (CEV)

It’s a small thing, something I decided to do on a whim of sorts and thought little about it until one day a few weeks ago as my daughter looked over my shoulder at an email I was writing.

The auto signature on my email account has a motto, a statement of my philosophy. It reads, “ENLISTED by His Grace; FORGIVEN by His Blood; EMPOWERED by His Spirit; SUSTAINED by His Resurrection,” and is accompanied by the Built with Grace Logo.

She pointed to that and asked me, does everyone you send an email to get that? I assured her they did. She simply nodded her head and went changed the subject.

I thought about that situation later and about how I’d never realized that ‘everyone would see’ this testimony of my faith with every email. Those who know me probably think nothing of it since they know my faith is important to me. Others may look at it and think I’m some religious fanatic. There may be many, unfortunately, who don’t have a clue as to what it means.

That little incident got me thinking about how many things we do, or don’t do regarding our faith out of fear or uneasiness at the reaction of others. It pleases me when I’m at a restaurant and I see a group at a table thanking God for their food. They aren’t making some statement to the world that they are better than anyone else (at least I hope not), but they are refusing to change their convictions and behavior because of others.

Here in theUnited States of Americawe are blessed with the freedom to openly express our faith in Jesus Christ. I fear for some of my brothers and sisters in Christ who risk their lives if they are caught even mentioning the name of Jesus. I fear the day may be approaching in which we may need to be cautious of our profession of faith.

The Psalmist tells of those who mock and jeer him for his faith. The original language implies that these are words of sarcasm and harassment. They are meant to ridicule, not encourage.

In response to the attacks, the Psalmist reaffirms his faith in God. Like the Apostle Paul states in Romans 1:16, “For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes, for the Jew first and also for the Greek. (NKJV)”

That doesn’t mean I’ll drop a dump truck load of Christianity on everyone I meet.  It does mean that I will refuse to change my words or my actions for others. My faith in Christ isn’t an ‘add-on’. It’s a part of my DNA. Sure, I’ll fail from time to time, but my goal is to show the love of Jesus in everything I do regardless of the smirks, the condescending smiles or outright harassment for my beliefs. It’s the least I can do for my Jesus.

How about you? What changes do you make in your behavior or words because of the crowd you are with? Do you stop and say thanks at a business luncheon? Do you live one way with the church crowd and another in the workplace? Be willing to risk the mocking of this world for the sake of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

PRAYER: Lord Jesus Christ. I am not ashamed of my faith in you. I thank you for all you have done for me. Show me on a daily basis areas of my life in which I unintentionally change my behavior in ways that may hide my passionate love for you and others. Amen.

