Only you, Lord, are a mighty rock! Don’t refuse to help me when I pray. If you don’t answer me, I will soon be dead. Psalm 28:1 (CEV)

Government tells us that safety and prosperity will come from new programs and equality.

Religion tells us that safety and prosperity will come from following certain dogmas and rules.

Education tells us that safety and prosperity will come from new books, higher learning and giving everyone an equal chance.

Society tells us safety and prosperity will come from acceptance and loving relationships.

But governments come and go and things haven’t gotten much better; religion has failed to give us any assurance that life is better by following those rules; education hasn’t solved any major issues of late and society seems on the brink of collapsing within itself.

So what can we hang our hat on every night? What assurance do we have that there is something better ahead? What comfort can we have when the bills are more than the money, our health is failing and the relationship we are in is unsatisfying on the good days and unbearable on the bad days?

A rock climber will tell you that a good foothold in the sheerest of cliffs gives you all the confidence in the world to move on. I’m not a rock climber, but I know about sheer cliffs. I know about getting into a place where there seems to be no way out and having one thing you can count on makes all the difference in the world.

I’m reminded of an old joke I heard years ago. A motorcyclist was driving through the mountains. He navigated one curve after another with no problem. Then the unthinkable happened. He took one curve too fast and ended up going over a sheer 500 foot cliff.

Halfway down he managed to grab a scraggly pine tree growing out of the rock. Suspended 250 feet from the rocky valley below, he screamed for help.

“Is there anybody up there to help me? He screamed at the top of his lungs.

“I’m here,” he finally hears a voice coming from nowhere.

“Well, who are you and can you help me?”

“I’m God, and of course I can help you.”

A bit confused he yells, “Good, can you get me out of here?”

The voice answers back, “Sure, let go of the tree.”

After a moment’s hesitation the man screams again, “Is there anyone else up there that can help me?”

Too often we fail to trust God completely. We acknowledge him as creator God, as controller of the universe, but when life seems impossible we turn to our own resources instead of complete trust in God.

Are you clinging to a tree hoping for some magical rescue? Trust God for who he is and let go of the tree!

PRAYER: Father I’m facing obstacles in my life I neither understand nor have an answer to. I’ve tried everything I know of to get out of this predicament. Now I turn to you and ask you to help me trust you with my entire life. Amen.

