I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. John 14:18

A dear friend of mine passed away suddenly a few weeks ago. While she was in her mid-seventies, she was more active than some half her age. She left behind three adult children, several grandchildren, many, many special friends and Suzie (not her real name).

Suzie was a young, special needs child that my friend adopted at a young age. She’d come from a very bad home life and had been bounced from one family member to another and several foster homes. That changed when she was adopted. My friend raised her as her own, helped her to excel to the best of her ability and watched her mature into a beautiful young lady.

Suzie wrote a letter to ‘her mom’ which was read at the funeral by someone else. It started something like this: “Dear mom, I remember the first time I met you. I asked you if you wanted me. You said yes.”

If there had been a dry eye in the house up to this point, it was gone! ‘Do you want me?’

The words still linger in my mind. We all ask that question. Not in so many words, not in such dire times, although for some we do. We all want to be wanted. We all NEED to be wanted. It’s an intrinsic part of our human nature. That’s why we seek relationships; why we work so hard for status, power and riches. The need to be wanted is at the heart of our social networking sites or our favorite night spots.

The need to be wanted also has a negative effect. When we can’t find fulfillment for the hole in our souls that screams for acceptance we try other relationships that may harm us, harm other people or destroy our bodies with drugs, alcohol or other things.

“Do you want me?”

It’s a question Jesus answers on a daily basis. “I will not leave you as orphans.” Get it? He wants you. Orphans have nothing to give. Orphans have an unknown past, and may bring emotional, physical or intellectual baggage that you aren’t ready to deal with. But Jesus says, I don’t care about all that. I want you.

Each of us is an orphan in a spiritual sense. Each of us have nothing to give, no hope for the future and carry enough luggage to fill an airliner. Our need to feel wanted is fulfilled through Jesus Christ. He makes no requirements other than that we accept his gift of adoption into his family.

PRAYER: Lord Jesus, there are so many times I feel alone, rejected or unable to meet the demands of today that others put on me or I put on myself. Thank you for adopting me. Thank you for wanting me, baggage and all. Amen.

