Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst? 1 Corinthians 3:16

There’s a small house down the road from us. I’m not sure when the grass was mowed last and since it’s in the country, there are no ‘rules’ to govern its upkeep. I’ve never seen the blinds or drapes open. The yard, what you can see of it, is cluttered with a couple old cars and some other debris. The siding doesn’t match. In fact, in a few places plywood patches damaged siding.

I’ve never seen anyone at this house. For all I know it could be abandoned except that on rare occasions there is a vehicle parked in the driveway. A nice, shiny, very expensive truck that I confess I’ve coveted on occasion!

While I know nothing of the story of this building and it’s inhabitants, it’s obvious to me where the priorities may lie and they are not on a dwelling place. I’d hesitate to step foot on the very property much less enter the building.

Paul writes to us about another kind of building, a spiritual and physical building that we take with us every day. I confess to you that I wish I would/could live every moment of my life with the realization that my body is the dwelling place, the house of the most high God. Even more amazing to me is that his dwelling is the place he has chosen.

There are some that teach (by lifestyle, if not verbally) that there is a separation of the spiritual and the physical; that what we do and what we believe don’t have to completely agree with each other. The spiritual me and the physical me can’t be separated though. We are one.

All across our nation fitness centers are springing up. Even the smallest of towns will have a place where people can come to care for their bodies. It’s ironic that we spend millions of dollars on churches every year to provide beautiful, comfortable places where people can come and ‘worship’. Yet, in reality we are a nation that is physically obese and spiritually starved. We don’t care of our souls work I really God dwells

Now, before you think that I’m pointing fingers, let me tell you about me. I’m 25 pounds overweight, don’t exercise nearly enough and wish I could find more time for study of God’s word and prayer. I often find myself saying things and doing things that, if God were standing beside me, I’d think twice about.

The point is, I’m not perfect. I’m far from perfect. Yet God. THE God. The creator-sustainer of the universe indwells me. Even more amazing is the fact that he CHOSE to indwell me because of his love for me, not because of how I take care of his home.

If we truly believe in this God we claim allegiance to, let us together strive to put a priority on his dwelling place, our hearts.

PRAYER: Father God. I thank you for your love for me. I praise you for the fact that even though I don’t always care for your dwelling place the way I’d like you still love me. Empower me with your Spirit to live in such a way that reflects your glory. Amen.

