(To my readers: Today’s post is in response to the recent accusations of abuse by Minnesota Vikings running back, Adrian Peterson. But in a more general sense, the situation has reminded me of how easy it is to become judgmental. For the believer, hard as it is, grace comes first. )

When they kept on questioning him, he straightened up and said to them, “Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her.” John 8:7

Maybe it’s because I made a horrific mistake that cost me a career I loved and left me with a criminal record that I’ll carry for the rest of my life.

Maybe it’s because I remember the shame and embarrassment I felt realizing that I’d hurt someone very dear to me, someone I loved and would have protected with my life, but ended up hurting.

Maybe it’s because I remember the looks, the loneliness and the rejection from friends I once thought would be loyal (many professing Christians).

Maybe it’s because I still harbor the wounds of those who still consider me an abuser, and still hear their accusing words.

Maybe it’s because I remember the few that stood by me even though they knew I wasn’t completely innocent.

Maybe it’s because I learned the ground is level under the cross and we are all equally guilty before God.

Maybe it’s because I learned the hard way that the common belief that one is ‘innocent until proven guilty’ is a fallacy and that even though our justice system may still be the best in the world, it’s seriously flawed.

Maybe it’s because I don’t think social media is the place to determine innocence, guilt or character.

Maybe it’s because I learned through my own failings what grace was.

Maybe it’s because, as a parent, there were far too many times I failed.

For whatever the reason, I’ll stand with AP. I don’t agree with what he did, but Jesus died for him too. I expect the secular media to crucify him, not believers. We are to be the last to cast stones, not the first.

