When Church Hurts

I am sure that if you were to ask people at our former church what I could have done differently, one of the top responses would be that I should have kept my mouth shut. Now, they might frame this statement with a bit more Christianese like, “Ellen should have accepted the leadership that God placed over her and done her best to serve and honor the Lord by using her gifts to support and bless the ministry of the people in authority.”

Yep, basically that’s saying that I was wrong because I spoke up and pointed out concerns rather than sucking it up and doing my best to make leadership look good no matter how many people were being hurt in the process.

I did have one woman who served as my mentor for several months who asked me, “Do you wish that you had not said anything?” The…

View original post 780 more words

