In the night I search for you; in the morning I earnestly seek you. For only when you come to judge the earth will people learn what is right. Isaiah 26:9

“How’d you sleep last night?”

“Terrible. My mind just wouldn’t shut down. Seems like I was up all night thinking about all I had to do.”

How many times has that conversation happened in your life? Studies have shown that a good night’s sleep is crucial to good health emotionally, physically and even spiritually. Yet many of us fail to get a good night sleep because life won’t leave us alone.

Some people say to pray. Others say to count sheep. Whatever the method, nothing seems to help. The prophet Isaiah had a tough calling. His church was the nation of Israel. They were stubborn, rebellious and completely sold out to their own selfish ambitions. Isaiah’s mission was to draw these people back to God.

Isaiah was like many of us though. He forgot that his job was to give the word, not change the people. Only God can change a heart, but too often those of us in ministry or in positions of authority take it upon ourselves to change people. The result is that we can grow frustrated under the burden of ministry.

Isaiah’s cure for sleepless nights was a constant view of God during the times of darkness (aka loneliness, hopelessness and despair) and in the morning (aka those times when we see the victory ahead).

The determining factor in all this is to keep our focus on God and his power and to realize that it is he who will bring the change, not us. Ours is only to constantly seek him in the dark times and the times of prosperity.

PRAYER: Father, too often I tend to lay the burden of living for you on my shoulders. It’s my power that will change me; It’s my power that will change others, etc. Forgive me for those times when I change my focus from you to myself. Empower me through your Spirit to see that it is you that works change every step of the way. In Jesus name, Amen.

